6th biennial Reynolds Cup competition for quantitative mineral analysis

The Reynolds Cup for quantitative mineralogy is run biannually by the US Clay Minerals Society (http://www.clays.org/SOCIETY AWARDS/RCintro.html).  The 2012 Reynolds Cup competition was organised by Mark Raven who is the ACMS Treasurer and winner of the 2010 Reynolds Cup competition.  The winners of the 2012 Reynolds Cup competition were announced at the 49th Clay Minerals Society Annual Meeting.

1st Place:  Michael Plötze,  IGT ClayLab, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

2nd Place:  Steve Hillier, Helen Pendlowski and Ian Phillips, James Hutton Institute Aberdeen, Scotland

3rd Place:  Reinhard Kleeberg1 and Robert Möckel2, TU Bergakademie Institute of Mineralogy1 and Helmholtz Institute Freiberg/Germany2

There were 74 registrants from 25 countries for the Reynolds Cup 2012 of which 80% submitted results.  97% of the participants used XRD as the primary tool for analysis of the samples.  More details can be found on the CMS website (http://www.clays.org/SOCIETY AWARDS/RCresults.html).

The ACMS congratulates the organiser, the winners and acknowledges the efforts of all participants.